The Corporation of the City of Kawartha Lakes Minutes Inaugural Meeting of Council

CC2018-21
Monday, December 3, 2018
Open Session Commencing at 1:00 p.m.
Council Chambers
City Hall
26 Francis Street, Lindsay, Ontario K9V 5R8

Members:

Mayor Andy Letham
Councillor Ron Ashmore
Councillor Pat Dunn
Councillor Doug Elmslie
Councillor Patrick O'Reilly
Councillor Tracy Richardson
Councillor Kathleen Seymour-Fagan
Councillor Andrew Veale
Councillor Emmett Yeo

Accessible formats and communication supports are available upon request.

1. Opening Ceremonies

1.1 Council Procession

The procession was piped into the Council Chambers by Greer Thornbury, a member of the Pipes and Drums of Lindsay. Superior Court Justice Drew S. Gunsolus, Mayor Letham and Members of Council entered the Council Chambers.

1.2 Welcome Address - Mayor Elect Andy Letham

Mayor Letham welcomed everyone present to the Inaugural Meeting of the 2018-2022 City of Kawartha Lakes Council and thanked everyone for attending the ceremony.

2. Historical Presentation

Ian McKechnie, Research Supervisor Victoria County Historical Society

lan McKechnie, Research Supervisor with the Victoria County Historical Society, presented a brief history of City Hall and highlighted its previous use as the Courthouse for the former County of Victoria.

3. O'Canada

The St. Dominic Choir led the Members of Council and the audience in the signing of O'Canada.

4. Administration of Declaration of Office

4.1 Declaration of Office by the Mayor

His Honour Superior Court Justice Drew S. Gunsolus administered the Declaration of Office to Mayor Andy Letham. He declared that the Declaration of Office was duly sworn before him the 3rd day of December, 2018.

4.2 Presentation of the Chain of Office and Mayoral Pin

His Honour Superior Court Justice Drew S. Gunsolus presented Mayor Letham with the Chain of Office and the Mayoral Pin for the City of Kawartha Lakes.

4.3 Administration of Declarations of Office by Council

His Honour Superior Court Justice Drew S. Gonsolus administered the Declaration of Office to Councillor Emmett Yeo, Councillor Pat Dunn, Councillor Doug Elmslie, Councillor Kathleen Seymour Fagan, Councillor Andrew Veale,

Councillor Tracy Richardson, Councillor Patrick O'Reilly and Councillor Ron Ashmore.

His Honour Superior Court Justice Drew S. Gunsolus declared that the Declaration of Office for each Councillor present was duly sworn before him the 3rd day of December, 2018.

5. Prayer

Pastor Boyachek led the Members of Council and those in attendance in a prayer of blessings and guidance.

6. Greetings - Member of Parliament

Mayor Letham passed along greetings from Member of Parliament Jamie Schmale.

7. Greetings - Member of Provincial Parliament

Mayor Letham read a letter from Member of Provincial Parliament Laurie Scott offering words of congratulations.

8. Introduction - Senior Staff Members

Mayor Letham introduced Director J. Rojas, Director B. Robinson, Director R. Sutherland, City Solicitor R. Carlson, Director J. Stover, Fire Chief M. Pankhurst, Director C. Shanks and Director C. Marshall. Mayor Letham provided an outline of the City Departments within the portfolio for each Director.

9. Election of the Deputy Mayor

C. Ritchie, City Clerk, provided an overview of the process involved with the election of Deputy Mayor.

9.1 Call for Nominations for Deputy Mayor

C. Ritchie called for nominations for Deputy Mayor.

Moved By Councillor O'Reilly Seconded By Councillor Seymour-Fagan

That Douglas J.F. Elmslie be nominated as Deputy Mayor for the City of Kawartha Lakes

Second and Final Call for Nominations for Deputy Mayor.

Moved By Councillor Ashmore Seconded By Councillor Yeo

Resolved that Raymond Patrick Peter Dunn be nominated as Deputy Mayor for the City of Kawartha Lakes.

Motion to Close Nominations for Deputy Mayor.

That nominations for the election of Deputy Mayor be closed.

9.2 Appointment of Scrutineer

CR2018-639

Moved By Councillor Yeo

Seconded By Councillor O'Reilly

That Superior Court Justice Drew S. Gunsolus be appointed scrutineer.

Carried

9.3 Recess to Conduct Voting

The Meeting recessed at 2:45 p.m. to conduct voting.

9.4 Return to Council Session

The meeting was reconvened at 2:53 p.m.

9.5 Deputy Mayor Election Results Declared

C. Ritchie declared that Douglas J.F. Elmslie was elected Deputy Mayor for a one (1) year term.

9.6 Motion to Authorize the Destruction of the Ballots (in the case of an election)

CR2018-640

Moved By Councillor Veale

Seconded By Councillor O'Reilly

That Council authorize the destruction of the ballots for the election of Deputy Mayor.

Carried

10. Inaugural Address - Mayor Andy Letham

Mayor Letham thanked everyone for attending the meeting and for the support that has been shown for the newly elected Council. He provided remarks about respect, inclusivity and working together for the community. Mayor Letham acknowledged the loss of Councillor Gord Miller and praised the work that was completed by the former Council.

A copy of the Inaugural Address is available in the Clerk's Office.

11. God Save the Queen

Natasha Mackey led members Council and the audience in the signing of God Save the Queen.

12. Confirming By-Law

12.1 CC2018-21.12.1

CR2018-641

Moved By Councillor Dunn

Seconded By Councillor Elmslie

That a by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Inaugural Council Meeting held Monday, December 3, 2018 be read a first, second and third time, passed, numbered, signed and the corporate seal attached.

Carried

13. Adjournment

CR2018-642

Moved By Councillor Veale

Seconded By Councillor Richardson

That the December 3, 2018 Inaugural Council Meeting adjourn at 3:04 p.m.

Carried

Andy Letham, Mayor	Cathie Ritchie, City Clerk