Courts of Revision

Court of revision

97 (1) Subject to subsections (3), (4) and (5), a court of revision shall consist of three or five members appointed by the council of the initiating municipality and such members other than members of the council may be paid such remuneration and expenses as the council may by bylaw provide. R.S.O. 1990, c. D.17, s. 97 (1).

Qualification

(2) Every such member shall be a person eligible to be elected a member of council or shall be a member of council. R.S.O. 1990, c. D.17, s. 97 (2).

Where more than one municipality

(3) Where the lands assessed for the drainage works extend from the initiating municipality into a neighbouring municipality, the court of revision shall consist of two members appointed by the council of the initiating municipality, of whom one shall be chair and one member appointed by the council of each of the neighbouring municipalities and the court shall hear and rule on appeals as if the entire area affected by the drainage works were in one municipality. R.S.O. 1990, c. D.17, s. 97 (3).

Quorum

(4) A majority of the members of the court of revision shall constitute and, despite the decision of any court, shall be deemed always to have constituted a quorum. R.S.O. 1990, c. D.17, s. 97 (4).

Jurisdiction and powers of quorum

(5) A quorum of the court of revision is sufficient and, despite the decision of any court, shall be deemed always to have been sufficient to exercise all of the jurisdiction and powers of the court of revision. R.S.O. 1990, c. D.17, s. 97 (5).

Court of Revision – The Court of Revision hears appeals on assessments – the portion of the cost of a proposed drainage work to be collected, as taxes, from the landowner