February 28, 2023

TO: Municipalities that form the Kawartha-Haliburton Municipal Working Group

- City of Kawartha Lakes
- Municipality of Trent Lakes
- Township of Minden Hills
- Municipality of Dysart et al
- Township of Algonquin Highlands
- Municipality of Highlands East
- County of Haliburton
- Township of Brock
- Township of Scugog
- Township of Uxbridge

Attention: Cathie Ritchie

RE: Municipal Representation on the Trent Conservation Coalition Source Protection

Committee – Selection of Candidates

Following our letter to you dated December 8, 2022, we have received a nomination to fill the vacancy for the Haliburton representative on the Source Protection Committee from members within the Kawartha-Haliburton Source Protection Area. This nomination process served to identify a candidate who will ultimately represent all member municipalities from our Source Protection Area.

Deputy Mayor Cecil Ryall from the Township Highlands East is the candidate moving forward in the appointment process. As per O. Reg. 288/07 of the *Clean Water Act, 2006* all municipalities identified above are included in the grouping of municipalities in the Kawartha-Haliburton SPA. A formal council resolution endorsing Cecil Ryall as the SPC representative for this area would be appreciated. We plan on bringing this matter to our Source Protection Authority Board to approve the appointment and a council resolution supporting this appointment prior to March 23rd is requested in order to support the SPA in its decision.

A suggested resolution is included below:

Resolved, That, City of Kawartha Lakes endorse Township of Highlands East Deputy Mayor Cecil Ryall as the Kawartha-Haliburton municipal representative on the Trent Conservation Coalition Source Protection Committee.

We would also like to take the opportunity to thank all municipalities for their continued cooperation in protecting our municipal drinking water sources. Mayor Elmslie will continue to serve as the Source Protection Committee and if, in the event that this position becomes vacant, we will initiate the nomination process again. Your efforts are greatly appreciated.

For additional information or clarification please do not hesitate to call me at 705-328-2271 ext. 215.

Sincerely,

Mark Majchrowski

Chief Administrative Officer,

Kawartha Conservation,

Kawartha-Haliburton Source Protection Authority

Copy: Jim Hunt, Chair, Trent Conservation Coalition Source Protection Committee Keith Taylor, Project Manager, Trent Conservation Coalition Source Protection Region Robert Rock, Chair, Kawartha-Haliburton Source Protection Authority