December 8, 2022

TO: Municipalities that form the Kawartha-Haliburton Municipal Working Group

- City of Kawartha Lakes
- Municipality of Trent Lakes
- County of Haliburton
- Township of Minden Hills
- Municipality of Dysart et al
- Township of Algonquin Highlands
- Municipality of Highlands East
- Township of Brock
- Township of Scugog
- Township of Uxbridge

Attention: Cathie Ritchie, City of Kawartha Lakes

RE: Municipal Representation on the Trent Conservation Coalition Source Protection

Committee – Vacancy

As per the *Clean Water Act,* 2006 and supporting regulations, a Source Protection Committee (SPC) guides the drinking water source protection planning framework in the region. The SPC consists of 1/3 municipal, 1/3 commercial and industrial group and 1/3 special interest group representatives. Due to municipal elections and term expiries, there are two vacancies on the SPC. We are currently seeking nominations to fill the vacant municipal members of the Source Protection Committee that would represent municipalities in the Kawartha-Haliburton Source Protection Area.

Each of the Source Protection Areas (SPA) in the Trent Source Protection Region receive a member on the SPC, and in the case of Kawartha-Haliburton SPA, we receive an additional representative. These municipal representatives speak for municipal interests on behalf of all municipalities on the working group during the development of a baseline report (assessment report), the source protection plan and the monitoring of implementation efforts.

Brent Devolin (Township of Minden Hills) and Doug Elmslie (City of Kawartha Lakes) were selected by municipalities in 2019. Both municipal representatives in the Kawartha-Haliburton SPA (K-H SPA) have stepped down from the committee and need to be replaced.

Traditionally, one municipal representative has come from Haliburton County due to the additional watershed area, and one municipal representative has come from the City of Kawartha Lakes as they have 80% of the drinking water systems across the Source Protection Area. The City of Kawartha Lakes has indicated that they would like to continue having participation on the SPC and serving on behalf of the municipalities forming the working group.

The identification of the SPC representative follows a legislated process (O.Reg. 288/07). At this time, we are seeking nominations for the positions. Nominations can be for either an elected official or a staff person and cannot be a Conservation Authority Board member of any of the Conservation Authorities in the Trent Conservation Coalition Source Protection Region. If there are multiple nominations from municipalities, a conversation with municipalities will be facilitated by the SPA Lead to determine if municipalities can agree on two members. If two candidates cannot be determined, interviews would be conducted by a Selection Committee (the SPC Chair and 2 SPA Chairs, supported by the Program Coordinator) and the Selection Committee would make a recommendation to the municipalities of the members to be elected. All municipalities in the Kawartha-Haliburton SPA must agree on the selection of two members and will need to pass council resolutions to this effect.

If your municipality is interested in identifying a nomination for the position of Source Protection Committee member, we would appreciate receiving it by <u>January 31, 2023</u>.

More information on the SPC, a formal description of member responsibilities and the SPC Member's Handbook can be found at http://trentsourceprotection.on.ca. The formal description of SPC member responsibilities is also attached for your convenience. For additional information or clarification please do not hesitate to call Jenna Stephens, our source protection lead at 705-328-2271 ext. 224, or me at ext. 215.

Sincerely,

Mark Majchrowski

Chief Administrative Officer

Kawartha Conservation

277 Kenrei Rd

Lindsay, ON K9V 4R1

Copy: Jim Hunt, Chair, Trent Conservation Coalition Source Protection Committee
Keith Taylor, Program Coordinator, Trent Conservation Coalition Source Protection Region
Chair, Kawartha-Haliburton Source Protection Authority